AZO nominated for Germans oldest innovation prize “Dieselmedaille”

AZO Nominierung Dieselmedaille


On April 12, 2019, Germany’s oldest innovation prize, the “Dieselmedaille”, will once again be awarded in Munich. AZO, Anwendungszentrum GmbH Oberpfaffenhofen, is nominated within the category of best innovation support!

For almost 15 years, AZO supports entrepreneurship with more than 500 company foundation in Europe. AZO manages its ESA Business Incubation Centre (BIC) Bavaria. This incubation programme has supported more than 148 company foundations solely in Bavaria to date.

Additionally, AZO has established the leading European space cluster innovation network for the satellite downstream market, while providing the necessary marketing and promotion platform, incubation and expert network, as well as regional funding programmes with the objective to increase the uptake of business cases.

Today, AZO organises it’s “Innovation Masters Series”, the most important space-related innovation competitions: Galileo Masters, Copernicus Masters, INNOspace Masters, Space Exploration Masters as well as the Copernicus Hackathons in close cooperation with space stakeholders such as the European Commission (EC), Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology Germany (BMVI), European Space Agency (ESA), German Aerospace Center (DLR), as well as a number of major industrial partners.

The “Dieselmedaille” was launched on the initiative of Eugen Diesel, the son of Rudolf Diesel, in 1953, making it Germany’s oldest innovation prize. It is awarded by the German Institute for Inventions (DIE e.V.).

DIE’s e.V. objective is to adequately acknowledge the achievements of inventors and entrepreneurs in the public and to consistently support their work. The long list of prominent medallists underlines the importance of intellectual creation and entrepreneurial success. Famous award winners include Wernher von Braun, Gottlob Bauknecht, Arthur Fischer, Anton Kathrein, Sybill Storz, Viktor Dulger, Karl Schlecht, Friedhelm Loh, Christof Bosch, the Nobel laureates Herrmann Staudinger, Ernst Ruska and Manfred Eigen, as well as the SAP founder Dietmar Hopp, Hasso Plattner and Klaus E. Tschira.

For more information, please click here. Read the full press release featured on DIE e.V. here.

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Trending Topics

Upcoming Events

You may also like

Interview with the Winner “Team” of the EO Excellence Award 2023

Interview with the Winner “Individual” of the EO Excellence Award 2023